Federal District Courts in Oklahoma

  1. publishing
  2. March 24, 2014 4:41 pm

Federal District Courts in Oklahoma

Oklahoma is divided into three federal court districts, namely Eastern, Northern, and Western. A district court map can be accessed through www.fedstats.gov. Congress created the District Courts under authority of the United States Constitution, and federal law determines the types of cases they can handle. These laws empower district courts to handle civil and criminal matters related to federal law and disputes between citizens of different states. They also conduct naturalization ceremonies. In each district, a special adjunct court hears bankruptcy cases. Final judgments may be appealed to the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals located in Denver, Colorado.

The United States District Court for the Northern District of Oklahoma handles cases for 11 counties in Oklahoma’s northeastern corner, from Ottawa County west to Osage County and south to Creek County. Cases are heard in Tulsa. The District Court’s website at www.oknd.uscourts.gov offers useful information for jurors, attorneys, and the general public.

The United States District Court for the Eastern District of Oklahoma exercises its jurisdiction over 26 counties of Oklahoma’s southeastern corner from Adair County west to Okfuskee County and south to the state’s border. Federal cases are heard in Muskogee, while the bankruptcy court is located in Okmulgee. The Court’s website at www.oked.uscourts.gov offers court clerk tips, forms, and useful links.

Headquartered in Oklahoma City, the United States District Court for the Western District of Oklahoma takes cases for Oklahoma’s panhandle counties east to Kay County and south to Jefferson County. The District maintains a satellite office in Lawton, Oklahoma. For helpful information, including courthouse tours, educational programs, local court rules, and juror information, check out the Western District’s website at www.okwd.uscourts.gov.

Leave a Reply